Takoma Park Maryland Library · 101 Philadelphia Avenue · Takoma Park Maryland 20912 USA · 301.891.7259

May 29, 2009

June 1-6

Monday, June 1
__ 7 p.m. – Bedtime Stories

Tuesday, June 2
__ 10 a.m. – Circle Time
__ 11 a.m. – Circle Time

Wednesday, June 3
__ 11 a.m. – Lapsit (Pre-registration required)
__ 1:40 p.m. – Piney Branch Elementary School 4th graders – presentation on audio books and Summer Quest

Thursday, June 4
__ 11 a.m. – Spanish Circle Time


Posted by at 04:52 PM

May 21, 2009

May 25-29

Tuesday, May 26
__ 10 a.m. – Circle Time
__ 11 a.m. – Circle Time
Wednesday, May 27
__ 11 a.m. – Twosies (Note: program is full)
__ 1:40 – Piney Branch Elementary School 4th graders – Summer reading presentation
__ 7:30 p.m. – Shakespeare Circus program (great for kids ages 5 and up)
Thursday, May 28
__ 11 a.m. – Spanish Circle Time
Friday, May 29
__ 11 a.m. – program for Takoma Park Child Development Center 5-year-old class
Saturday, May 28
__ 10:30 a.m. -- French Circle Time

Posted by at 04:52 PM

May 15, 2009

The Mosaic

mosaic on SE wall of library

Visit the Takoma Mosaic Project.
Lend a hand.

Other mosaics?
Even been to Ostea Antica ?
It serves as setting for some interesting novels, such as Lindsey Davis' Scandal Takes A Holiday and Caroline Lawrence's Thieves of Ostea. We own both.


Also in the library:
738.5 KELLY The complete mosaic handbook : projects, techniques, designs
738.5 GOODWIN Decorative mosaics
O 709 U58 Greece : Byzantine mosaics
O 709 U58 Israel: ancient mosaics
738.5 DIERKS Making mosaics : designs, techniques & projects
738.5 H498 Mosaic patterns
738.5 CHEEK Mosaics : design sourcebook

O means that the book is huge and shelved among the oversized books.


Posted by library at 02:40 PM

May 14, 2009

May18-23


Monday, May 18
__ 1:40 – Piney Branch Elementary School 4th graders – presentation on poetry
__ 7 p.m. – Bedtime Stories
Tuesday, May 19
__ 10 a.m. – Circle Time
__ 11 a.m. – Circle Time
__ Noon-3 p.m. – (At Rolling Terrace Elementary School) – presentation on librarian’s many “hats”
Wednesday, May 20
__ 11 a.m. – Twosies (Note: program is full)
__ 7 p.m. –Tween Writing Club (Note: program is full)
Thursday, May 21
__ 11 a.m. – Spanish Circle Time
Saturday, May 23
__ 10:30 a.m. – Madama Butterfly program with Washington National Opera for ages 4-10 with their families. Pre-registration required.

Posted by at 11:06 AM

May 07, 2009

May 11-16

Note: It’s Children’s Book Week and we will be celebrating all week by having kids make their own bookmarks and by asking kids and grown-ups to fill out a brief form telling us what are their favorite children’s books and why they are such favorites.
Monday, May 11
__ 1:40 – Piney Branch Elementary Branch School 4th graders – presentation on mysteries
__ 7:30 p.m. – Banned Books Club (Our books are “The Great Gilly Hopkins” and “Bridge To Terabithia”)
Tuesday, May 12
__ 10 a.m. – Circle Time
__ 11 a.m. – Circle Time
Wednesday, May 13
__ 11 a.m. – “Twosies” (Note: program is full)
__ 1:40 p.m. – Piney Branch 4th graders – presentation on poetry
Thursday, May 14
__ 11 a.m. – Spanish Circle Time
Friday, May 15
__ 4 p.m. – Comics Jam (postponed from May 8)
Saturday, May 16
__ 10 a.m. – 3 p.m. – Friends of the Library Book Sale
__ 10:30 a.m. – Circle Time

Posted by at 02:03 PM

May 01, 2009

May 4-9

Monday, May 4
__ 1:40 p.m. – Piney Branch Elementary School 4th graders – presentation on poetry
__ 6:30-8 p.m. – Mother’s Day Craft program –(Note: pre-registration required.)
Tuesday, May 5
__ 10 a.m. – Circle Time
__ 11 a.m. – Circle Time
Wednesday, May 6
__ 11 a.m. – Twosies (Note: pre-registration required)
__ 1:40 p.m. – Piney Branch Elementary School 4th graders – presentation on poetry
Thursday, May 7
__ 11 a.m. – Spanish Circle Time
Friday, May 8
__ 4 p.m. – Comics Jam


Posted by at 05:08 PM